h1

So where have I been?

December 1, 2010

I took a break from the site, blogging, and anything more than novel work. About a week before November 1st, I decided to sign up for Nanowrimo’s annual 50,000 words in 30 days challenge.

I made it. It was a serious challenge, with the first week going smoothly, the next having a few difficult days, the following a bit worse as my day job added some challenges along with family illness that hit me in the final week. Through it all, I learned some things.

  1. We have a lot of time to do a lot of things if we stay focused on those things. You really can achieve a lot when you put your mind to it!
  2. Writing in short spurts is actually more beneficial than sitting down and plugging away nonstop. I tried both, but in one day I made up 6,000 words plus simply by returning to the writing for 1,000, taking a break, and doing it again. Again, I had a goal going into this, and though not all the writing will be kept, it was productive for storytelling.
  3. Have a goal and write to it. Hemingway did this with his well documented 1,000 words a day limit. I wouldn’t be that anal about it, but I certainly see the value in saying you will achieve a certain amount and then achieving it. It feels good!

So with all that said, the plan from here is to return to the Message in force. I have 1 section of writing set to post after my “personal editor” gets finished with it. Once it’s ready, I’ll post it up weekly. I’ll be working on a section of writing for The Pride and Nor Azylon. That should be interesting for everyone and truly bring two of the more intriquing cultures of the world.

Leave a Reply

