h1

Tinker’s Tale Review

October 17, 2011

Tinker's TaleTinker’s Tale by Stephen “B5” Jones

The Good:

The book’s prologue instantly entranced me. In reading the first few chapters, I dwelt on the story as I fell asleep (right before bed is my typical reading time) and I thought of it as soon as I woke up. Few books have had such an impact on me, and to have it from a new writer bodes well for future work. As I look back, I struggle knowing what was so entrancing, but the best I can surmise is the prose style. In this way, it reminded me a bit of CS Lewis’ Chronicles of Narnia, Lewis Carroll’s Alice in Wonderland or various fairy tales.

The Bad:

Some of the grammar was poor. Of course, this happens in every book, but the frequency of the mistakes was higher than normal, though not the worst I’ve seen from small press or independent authors. After the story moved into the actual Tinker’s Tale, rolling through various POVs in a single scene, I struggled a bit until it finally clicked that a Tinker told the story. Yes, I know it’s in the title, but it still is challenging to read in that rarely used 3rd person omnipotent style. Some of the challenges the heroes faced that led to the climax were a bit simple for the heroes to overcome, giving the appearance of walking through the scenes without any true conflict.

The Verdict:

Would I suggest this book to others? Sure, especially if you enjoy seeing a new voice in fantasy. It is a light, easy read reminiscent of days gone by.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

